RECAP – #GamerGate two week Summary April 4th-10th 2015

A summary of some of the major happenings this week from the GamerGate consumer revolt and related controversies. Covers Kotaku and Polygon’s shenanigans, Sad Puppies being blamed on GamerGate, the study on games and sexism, and OpEarthquake.

Follow me on Twitter to get updated about new videos: @TheQuQu

gitgud timeline:
https://gitgud.net/gamergate/gamergateop/tree/master/Current-Happenings

Sources:
‘Gamers’ don’t have to be your audience. ‘Gamers’ are over. – Leigh Alexander
https://archive.today/mTQX6

The End of Gamers – Dan Golding
https://archive.today/THwxj

Proof of when Yang worked at RPS:
https://archive.today/EZLbW

A Game where you have Sex with your Car – Nathan Grayson
https://archive.today/Cvyag

Kotaku Writer Paid $800 To Dev He Was Sleeping With, Without Disclosure – Billy D

Kotaku Writer Paid $800 To Dev He Was Sleeping With, Without Disclosure

Michael McWhertor and Jason Schreier and legodimensions
https://archive.today/l8xec

Ian Miles “Prower” Cheong calling them out on it.
https://archive.today/iFRRL#selection-9069.0-9069.100

David Zhou squatting another domain
https://archive.today/0OHWV

SadPuppies links
https://archive.today/qBMkc

How to get Correia nominated for a Hugo. 🙂

How to get Correia nominated for a Hugo PART 2: A VERY SPECIAL MESSAGE

My Hugo Slate


SAD PUPPIES 3: the 2015 Hugo slate

Addendum to Yesterday’s Letter


http://www.breitbart.com/london/2015/04/11/media-drops-the-ball-on-hugoawards-sadpuppies/

Sexist Games=Sexist Gamers? A Longitudinal Study on the Relationship Between Video Game Use and Sexist Attitudes.
https://archive.today/4xz28

Leigh Alexander salt over study:
http://archive.today/7coRv

 

OpEarthquake idea thread:

[OP Earthquake] The idea to treat "trending hashtags" like a MMO and trend #AreYouBlocked? on Thursday, April 9 6pm PDT (9pm EDT, 1am GMT, 3am CET) from KotakuInAction


(there was one on 8chan too, but those die quickly)

The claim about the new blocklist:
https://archive.today/QzbXn

Fart with stats:
https://archive.today/moXuH

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

Share


twitterrssyoutube

Follow

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*